Week 2: ISSS not ISIS. - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu Week 2: ISSS not ISIS. - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu

Week 2: ISSS not ISIS.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

06 Februari 2016 | Verenigde Staten, West Albany

Written on the 6th of February.

First of all, I have received very good responses on my last blog. Thank you for taking your time to read my no-nonsense, straight-in-your-face, weekly blog. It actually motivates me to keep on writing about my adventures.

Ok, here we go. I'll take up where I left off. Hopefully I'll be able to bridge the gap of the blogs I have written and the time I am actually here (it's been three weeks already), in which I can continue my next blog with more recent experiences.

So, after receiving our keys and entering our dorm room, it was time that we unpacked our luggage and went to the dining hall to have dinner with the other international students. To our surprise, the linen packages we had order-which had bed sheets, pillows and pillowcases in it- were not delivered. Which means we had to sleep without blankets and pillows. However, THAT COULDN’T PRESS THE FUN! WE HAD CONCURRED THREE DAYS WITHOUT IT! Yes, that had to be in capital letters because it still feels like a victory.

During our dinner, we met with the other Dutch students, whom also had arrived safe and sound. Now we were complete-at least that's what we thought-(DUN,DUN,DUUUUN *climax sounds*)...To our surprise, there was another student from The Netherlands, Tom. We immediately became friends, and organized a brand new group. The infamous Dutch Squad. (I'll mention their names, because I am sure they'll appreciate to see their names in my blog. Hello to: Danny, Femke, Jillian, Luuk and Tom).

After our dinner, we visited WalMart (which was very exciting, as I had always heard about it on television and YouTube) to buy some basic necessities. I'll be honest; it wasn't that great of a deal. Yes, it was big, but I wasn’t in awe.
But nonetheless, it was great to see all the different foods and items you can get, which you cannot find, in The Netherlands.

Ok, now I am not sure anymore what the chronological order of the events were as this point, as it all happened three weeks ago, so I might go a bit ‘’zigzag-y’’(look I made-up a new word).

Orientation has started by now, lot's of information about sexual assault, ISSS (International Student Scholar & Services) lectures and how to report a crime, because yes; 'Murica. You'll be shocked at how many information sheets and information in general you'll receive. By the end of the 2 or 3-can't recall- orientation days, you'll have like 40 sheets of paper with information about EVERYTHING. How to: get around town, where to get food, how to order a fridge, how to report a crime, how to wipe your butt (joke).

I have a feeling I'm leaving out the 'Juicy-stories', but I really can't recall everything, that's what I get for being lazy and not writing the blog.

CONTINUING, Classes started by now, in which I dropped 4, in the first week. Because I didn’t like the professor and I had too many credits. The classes here are either a hit or miss. These are my thoughts about the professors here: 1. You'll get a professor who doesn't speak proper English (yes they have them here) or 2. You'll get a professor who reads the whole book instead of giving own formulated sentences and experiences and 3. The perfect professor; of course this is arguable as everyone has their own views on what a 'perfect' professor is. In order to get to your classroom you can either choose to go through a tunnel or walk on the main campus (yes it's that big here). Classes are a bit meh, to me. I really don't have a feeling they have added value content wise, however, it really IS beneficial for my English in vocabulary and pronunciation in general. And that's what I'm here for anyway. If I were to compare professors from my own home country and here, our professors are BY FAR more knowledgeable in the area of pedagogy and didactics. You also receive a syllabus in every course you take, which is an equivalent of a contract. If you sign it, it means you agree with the conditions the professor sets for this class. So no plagiarising, missing too many classes, not doing homework etc.

We have done many activities (see attached pictures), sung at a karaoke bar, walked around downtown, did some ice skating, played games at Dave and Busters, met lots of new friends from all over the world: Japan, North/South Korea, Brazil, Saudi Arabia, China, Germany, Norway. But the fun doesn’t end here…

Like I said, I am sure I missed a few things I actually wanted to mention; however I forgot (oops). I tried to explain everything I have done up until now in a lickety-split (remember this word ;-)?)

Next week, I'll be including the questions you have asked me and also tell you about the Super Bowl party we are having and the basketball game I have been, and will be going again this weekend.

So, make sure you stay tuned (mind the spelling errors, I am not going to reread everything, and so shouldn’t you).

Have a good one,
Tunckan Atay






  • 15 Februari 2016 - 17:35

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Tunckan, I really appreciate all the energy you put in writing these posts for us, poor people in Holland who have not been able to fly to the States and live there for four months...-:)! It's good to hear that you seem to have settled in by now, found old and new friends and have been able to cope with brilliant and less brilliant professors and American students and civilians. Hope you're going to learn a lot and have fun too! Enjoy and take care, keep us posted. Jan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 26 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 297
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3513

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2016 - 18 Mei 2016

Exchange Stories in Albany, New York

Landen bezocht: