Week 3: Adaptation - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu Week 3: Adaptation - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu

Week 3: Adaptation

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

21 Februari 2016 | Verenigde Staten, West Albany

Hi everyone!

In comparison to my other blogs, this one will be slightly different.
I will be responding to the questions you have asked me in my previous posts.

The first question/response I received (from Emrah) is: ''Write about one school day, from waking up until going to bed.''

Well, here I go. I will only be describing the ''regular'' school day, without the activities and crazy shenanigans we do in-between, so you'll get a general gist of what college life is like here.

My regular school day starts on Tuesdays. My first class starts at 10:15am. This is my Sociology class. Having put my alarm on 7:30: I wake up, take a shower(we have shared bathrooms-it's not that bad-), put on some clothing for the ones that are not into nudity, go to the Waterbury dining hall, have breakfast and take bus 11 or the shuttle to the main campus.

After my first class ends, I -almost always- meet up with Luuk as we both have an 1,5 hour break. Then we have dinner together at one of the quads on the main campus. In order to eat in the dining halls, you either buy a meal plan provided by the school, or you pay a fee of 10 dollars. It is an all you can eat. I have a meal plan with 5,000 meals on it, so I'm good for the time being.

Furthermore, Luuk and I take a class together;Language and Social Action. This is after our break. There, we meet up with our French and Japanese peers in the lecture room.

Once the class ends, I rush to my other class, as I have 10 minutes to go from the lecture center to the Humanities building(don't worry, it's not that long of a walk, dramatizing over here). After this awesome class, I have one more class, Freshman year experience. This class starts at 4:15pm, so a little more patience until classes end.

Then we meet up with other students to have dinner, and after that we all go to our quads. Usually, we gather at Waterbury basement to end the day. We play games or just hang around and socialize with other students. (For Femke's great hula hooping skills, see pictures)

As you might have noticed in my writing, hence the title, I am really getting used to being here. It doesn't feel ''new'' anymore and we (the other Dutch students), are adapting greatly.

I'll keep answering your questions as part of my weekly blogs, as I find that it brings a fresh perspective into my blogs.

So, keep the questions coming!




  • 17 Maart 2016 - 09:49

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Tunckan, thanks for your vivid description of your tough, typical university day....-;) . Good to hear you're settling in well and adapting to your American surroundings......Sociology and Humanities...hmm, sounds impressive. No seriously, I really hope you're enjoying both the' cultural' and educational parts of your stay abroad.... any trips forthcoming... N.Y. for instance....? Take care and enjoy, greetz, Jan

  • 21 Maart 2016 - 10:59

    Trui Veen:

    Hi Tunckan,
    Glad to see (hear) that you are settling in. I think it is very intersting that a description of a typical school day mainly focusses on transportation and meals... ;-) !! I get that that is probably your main concern. But what about the classes??? I see an enormous lecture hall! Are the lectures any good? Easy to follow? I am sorry, but I am a teacher after all... Please, let me know more! And say hi to Luuk and Femke (and... I thought there were more HAN-students?? Am I forgetting someone?)
    Cheers,
    Trui

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 26 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 372
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3591

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2016 - 18 Mei 2016

Exchange Stories in Albany, New York

Landen bezocht: