Week 6: finals, finals everywhere. - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu Week 6: finals, finals everywhere. - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu

Week 6: finals, finals everywhere.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

11 Mei 2016 | Verenigde Staten, West Albany

Ola! No I am not in Spain, still in the US.Hey I am not complaining, wish I could stay here forever.

This week is finals week, so apologizing beforehand, I am keeping this blog very short, or as our TEFL teachers would say KISS (sorry non-HAN readers, this is jargon).

I’ll briefly explain what my finals week looks like, so you know the struggles of writing a research paper.

I am not able to recall whether I have mentioned this before, however, in the US, PLAGIARISM is a mother’s favourite child (not even sure if this is an expression).
The semester started with a long speech about why we shouldn’t plagiarise, and the semester ended with a reminder that if we want to graduate, we STILL shouldn’t have intentions of doing it…ok. Sometimes I have the feeling they do not trust the students at all. Why elaborate on something that has been said a tons of times and miss out on valuable class time in which other things can be discussed?

Well, continuingly, I have 2 research papers to write in which everything needs to be on point from a to z. Correct citations, fonts, page numbers, and margins. And instead of making it easier for the o-so-sad students, professors have their own way of adding a twist to the already established citation rules, making it sometimes difficult to track what the criteria were. However, no complaining this is a valuable lesson, and research will be a big part in the upcoming years of the teacher course. Luckily for me, we have already done quite the research assignments, making it less difficult for me to conduct these here. The more practice, the merrier. This way I can polish my skills even more. I do sound very positive right now, however, I am dying a little inside while typing, so don’t mind me, I’ll be up some hours to finish this LOVELY paper.

However, Wait! I told you that I would keep it short today, forgive me. Next blog will be double the amount of what I have written today. Wish me luck!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 26 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 100
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3522

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2016 - 18 Mei 2016

Exchange Stories in Albany, New York

Landen bezocht: