Week 9: Returning - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu Week 9: Returning - Reisverslag uit West Albany, Verenigde Staten van Weeklydoseoftunccy - WaarBenJij.nu

Week 9: Returning

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

21 Mei 2016 | Verenigde Staten, West Albany

Wow, I still can’t believe it. I am now typing from my home country again, The Netherlands. I have to say; I really miss Albany and the amazing people I have met. However, I will write about this in my last blog.

In this blog I want to talk about my experience travelling back to The Netherlands, boy, this was an experience!

After clearing out my dorm room, leaving everything behind in a good state, packing my bags and handing in my keys, it was time to leave Albany forever.

With a bittersweet feeling of leaving, my gut feeling was already telling me it would become quiet an adventure today. First, it started out by one of my French friends-Alyssa, hi- throwing away my food for the trip accidentally. So, yes, no food for me. Fortunately, I had planned a meeting with a Turkish friend -Hilal- to have breakfast together at Dunkin’ Donuts (yes very unhealthy). Alyssa and I took the bus to go to the main campus, because my bus to NYC would leave from there, as I had to go to JFK, we noticed a certain crowdedness. O no, graduation ceremonies were being held throughout the day. To make the matter even worse, Alyssa –playing the devil today, joking- ripped my bag! FUCK was the only thing that I would think at this point and to top it off, my bus hadn’t arrived yet, and they changed the pick-up spot. FRUSTRATION.

Little did I know that this was only the beginning, and I hated my gut feeling already!

After getting my breakfast, having no time to eat it as there was a huge line, we said goodbye and my trip to NYC started.

Nothing funky, or crazy happened in the bus so fast forward to my trip to JFK.

I had to take a specific metro to go the JFK in order for me to be on time. However, as the day was already perfect, the train didn’t run today due to maintenance. Well, not worrying about it too much, as I still had three hours to go to JFK which would take only 1,5 hours, I decided to re-route. Little did I know I had to walk 10 blocks down to the next metro station, and my suitcase’s wheels were broken. FUCK! After sweating like a pig, and walking for approximately 3 quarters of an hour, I managed to get on the metro. And yes, of course, DELAY. 20 minutes delay. NO panic Tunckan, I said to myself, trying to stay calm.

Finally, I arrived at JFK and everything had to go right now, right? Well, no! My suitcase was too heavy, I only had 45 minutes left, in which I had to be at the check-in 15 minutes before.
So, the lady asked in a rather sassy manner how I would like to pay 120 dollars. 120 DOLLARS!!!! I didn’t have the money on my credit card nor debit card in one go, so I had to split it, however, the annoying supervisor said I could only pay like that if I pay in cash, so I had to find and ATM. Of course, why not, I have all the time in the world, no biggie.

After the whole catastrophe, begging people if I could skip the line, passing through security, running like crazy, and not haven had eaten anything yet; I managed to be at the check-in point 5 minutes prior to the ‘’deadline’’.

Never, have I ever been this glad to be on time.

Now I am here, laying in bed with a fewer and a sore throat. I think we can all imagine why, STRESS!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Actief sinds 26 Jan. 2016
Verslag gelezen: 90
Totaal aantal bezoekers 3521

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Januari 2016 - 18 Mei 2016

Exchange Stories in Albany, New York

Landen bezocht: